Madagascar is an islandic country of 587,04km, it is the 4th largest island in the world with a population of 18.040.341. It is located to the SE coast of Africa near Mozambique, thus creating the Madagascar Channel of total length 980 miles and maximum width of 360 miles (min. 250 miles).

Until 1958 it was a French colony. Madagascar is divided into six autonomous provinces: Antseranana, Mahajanga, Toamasina, Antananarivo (Antananarivo, the Country's Capital), Fianarantsoa Toliary. Antananarivo was founded in 1625, build on 12 hills populated by more than 2.000.000 people.

Madagascar is a developing country with intense poverty and deceases problems.

Orthodox Diocese of Madagascar has also the responsibilty of the Mauritian islands, Maldives, Comoro and Réunion islands as well.